kangeiko: (Default)
I am bored, and not writing. Technically I'm watching S1 Gossip Girl and primping, but that requires long periods of doing nothing, so ... I'm bored.

Let's talk beauty.

I'm using...

- I am allergic to most beauty products out there. One of the few names I am not allergic to is Origins. I am particularly fond of their A Perfect World range, I use the face wash, moisturiser, skin serum, and have just started using their eye cream. I used to use their checks and balances face wash, but it's a little too dry for my skin; I've found the Perfect World line a really good fit. If you have really oily skin it might be a good try, though.
- I also use the Origins face masks, particularly their charcoal face mask. I'm a great fan of the Modern Friction exfoliator as well, although you have to be careful with it as it's pretty thorough stuff.
- On the body, I opt for whatever shower gel we have in the house, and simply slather on Palmers Cocoa Body Butter (again, I'm allergic to most moisturisers). It's excellent for skin firmness, and will also reduce scars, stretch marks, blemishes, etc - which is really important for me, as I managed to fall down an escalator a few years ago and had scars all down my left leg. After much usage of this wonderful cream they're completely gone now.
- I still have a pot of Pout's bustier bust-enhancing cream left, although don't bother trying to find this anywhere: Pout went bankrupt and all their products are no longer available. Sob. Palmers will fill the firming & lifting gap once my final stash runs out.
- In terms of make-up, I'm veering between tinted moisturisers and foundations at the moment, quite wildly in fact. I've got the following on my mantlepiece: Lancome Colour ID, Lancome tinted moisturiser, and Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser. The latter seems to be the best compromise, although it's a little trickier to apply than the Lancome products. I often have to blend in a little Benefit high beam, which also does instead of eye-shadow just blended in around the lash area to brighten up tired eyes. I use Christian Dior mascara and skinflash concealer, although I have found it too similar to the YSL touche eclat that I use for specific touch-ups. On my cheeks I use Benefit's dandelion blusher and for powder I opt for Christian Dior's loose powder. I use Body Shop make-up brushes, which I have found generally soft enough and flexible enough for most purposes.
- Favourite and most flexible item? My limited edition 1950s 'classic' packaging pot of Elizabeth Arden's 8 hour cream - perfect for anything. My mother managed to get her hands on this particular pot, long now sold out, and I love it with a fierce passion. Not quite sure why, other than I've always thought that make-up should be a glamorous, indulgent activity, and definitely not something you do while on the train. So my mirror and mantlepiece are surrounded by beribboned headbands, a mask from Venice, earrings, postcards and beautiful pots and bottles of every size. I think I tend to choose my products as much on the packaging as on everything else - given that it's going to be in front of me every day for the better part of the year, I need it to be lovely. And the classic glass pot for the requisite 8 hour cream - a must for everyone - is also refillable - so it's eco-friendly, too.
- Perfume: I almost always wear Dior's La Dolce Vita, although I do have Flower by Kenzo (which is fresher, and which I tend to wear on beach holiday), Angel, by Thierry Mugler (much sweeter, almost chocolate-like, which was a gift), and I have also recently been given JPG's Classique summer fragrance, which I have yet to try out. I have to say, I mostly use La Dolce Vita - and that's about it. I've read some amusing reviews that try to restrict its use to the evenings, or to a particular age group, which I find hilarious. If a scent works for you for a particular event or part of the day, great. I find this one makes me happy, so I wear it all the time.
- You'll notice I haven't talked about my hair. Woe. My hair currently refuses to behave, no matter what I do to it. I shall be getting up half an hour early to attempt curls with a curling iron for the next week, and see how I get on. I tend to use the TG smoothing serum after washing it, and I'm currently using the cheap wonder of Tresomme shampoo and conditioner. Almost as good as TiGi's Honey & Oatmeal... but it doesn't smell as nice.

*

I'm wearing...

I would exceed the post limit if I tried to talk through my wardrobe! And yet I never seem to have anything to wear, it's most distressing.

A few years ago I discovered that I was allergic to most man-made fibres (and lanolin, hence my issue with most beauty products). I therefore slowly but surely converted my wardrobe into cotton and silk. Now, I can wear some synthetics, but my wardrobe is till mostly natural fibres. As they tend to be more expensive, I've had to focus on investment buys rather than simply buying disposable clothing (which I tend to purchase when travelling, so I don't need to worry about it getting ruined).

Some of my favourite summer constant-use pieces are:
- several light summer dresses, mostly silk or silk-blends in neutral or bright summer colours.
- a white cashmere cardigan, and a pink light light wool cover-up.
- the requisite pairs of jeans: normal, and cropped.
- t-shirts of every description and variety, mostly light colours with scoop or V-necks.
- a few summer skirts in light summer colours, lightly lined. I dislike unlined skirts, I think they hang badly. Even if it is a summer skirt, there should be a lining, however light.
- two coats: a taupe single-breasted mac that goes in at the waist (for spring and early autumn), and a royal blue Milly wool coat with gorgeous swirly print lining and 3/4 sleeves.
- formal wear: an organza silk navy blue polka dot dress, a taupe asymmetric hem dress with black net overlay, a chocolate brown silk "red carpet" dress (my pride and joy, currently being repaired), and a teal 60s low-back silk dress that does equally well for winter evenings. I found that my past life in corporate whoredom means that I am well prepared for any eventuality.

Shoes! Oh, I spent today reorganising my shoe closet, yay. I am currently in love with the following:
- my metallic block wood wedges. They are currently on their way back to Kurt Geiger to be reheeled, as I am concerned about the wood splintering. Woe.
- My new Carvela sky-high sandals, brown leather with a purple suede flower... and a 5-inch heel.
- my Merrell walking boots i.e. my trainers - realistically, the shoes I wear most often, whatever the weather. Hey, they're comfy!

I'd talk about my recent underwear acquisitions, but I would be tempted to post pictures, and that way badness lies. So tell me, flist, what are you wearing and using on your gorgeous bods this summer? Inquiring and vicarious minds want to know.
kangeiko: (wasting time online)
[livejournal.com profile] athena25 has the new iPhone 3Gs. I am covetous. And, having just found out that my contract is ending this month, contemplating a splurge that will make my life better (tm).

*

Headed to [livejournal.com profile] queenspanky's in a little bit, for party purposes. It's tipping it down, so I suspect that it will not be a garden party.

*

In other news, it's my birthday on 1st August! If you loved me you'd send me glitter pens write me fic. Yes. /shameless
kangeiko: (Default)
IT'S TOO BLOODY HOT.

The person to mention that fact that I'm used to heat much more intense than this gets a stick in the face. I always had an air conditioned hotel room to fall back on in Africa; here I'm suffering with the rest of the population. As well as dreading next week, when the commute starts again, boo hiss.

It was not hot enough to deter my mother and me from shopping, of course. We hit the Harrods sale and came out with heels galore. GALORE, I tells you. A pair of leather strappy sandals with a flower on the side, and a turquoise satin pair with a diagonal tie with ribbon. Gorgeous beyond belief, and also sky-high. One of these days I will promise to stop buying impossible heels and I will actually mean it.

Also some needed make-up and a lovely coral nail lacquer. WHAT? I am doing my bit for the economy. *sniff*

This is all because it's too hot to write, you know. I've been carting around a stack of prompts with me wherever I go on the off-chance that I'll be inspired, but so far there has been nary a sniff of a drabble, let alone full-blown fic. Given that I usually try to use at least part of my holidays to write, this is unacceptable, I tells you. I can't decide if I'm just unmotivated or if I'm blocked. (Maybe it's the same thing?)

So tell me, flist, how do YOU get over writer's block and start scribbling again?
kangeiko: (jack/sloane gunpoint)
Firstly - DOCTOR WHO OMG FLAIL!!! *falls over* IS IT NEXT WEEK YET????

Secondly - The 'Me' meme, answer the first (for [livejournal.com profile] likeadeuce):

Prompt: Jack/Arvin, chicken soup

Result:

Title: Love Is...
Fandom: Alias

This also fits the [livejournal.com profile] fanfic100 prompt #72 'fixed'

*

Read it at AOOO.

*


Thirdly - I woke up in such a rotten mood today. Possibly a combination of having worked myself to the bone and hormones, I think - but it was bad enough to be actively painful, as that much rage was giving me a crushing headache. I combated said rage by dosing myself with antihistimatines for the hayfever, paracetamol for the headache, chai tea for the stress, shopping for the stompiness, and being outside the for cabin fever. I am, indeed, feeling much better.

I also purchased two splendid items of clothing: a yellow knitted top, which has big button on the front (like a cargidan, basically) but also has a thick ribbon at the waist. It comes down to my hips, is v. figure-hugging, and v. low-cut in that V-neck, and when worn with a pencil skirt will scream classic French sillhouette - or one can only hope. The other item was a black knitted dress, coming down to below my knees, which, again, is low-cut on the V-neck, and v. figure-hugging.

I love well-made knits. *clutches them to my bosom*

HMV were also having a killer sale, and I acquired the following:

- MiB 1 & 2 = £3
- Mr & Mrs Smith = £3
- Blow = £3
- Dr Zhivago = £7
- The Prestige = £7
- Lost in Translation = £3

All of these make me happy. Yes. If you can spare time to go to HMV, go, their sale is rather good about now...

Now I must go and continue working on the Halo Jones fic I have been writing, because I have a serious Alan Moore yen at the moment.

One more week in Kent, and then I am free! Whee!!
kangeiko: (wasting time online)
I have about three pence before I reach my overdraft limit but I am filled with the sudden urge to buy pretty things. This is bad. I must wait until the parentals have returned from Abroad and then make them buy me pretty things instead.

Also, I get to graduate on Dec 14th (again). I'm gonna be a MAMsc soon, yay! *squeals*

This means more graduation gifts, right??

ION, college = boring. On the plus side, I finish this latest torture in another year and then I qualify - big pay bump, woo! *salivates at the mere thought*

Did I mention that I require cash for pretty things? Shoes. I need new shoes. And, also, autumnal coats and scarves. And who knew that it costs £20 to dry clean suede gloves???? Not right. Not right at all. This is me - *points* - disgruntled.

Right - to bed.

Profile

kangeiko: (Default)
kangeiko

January 2021

S M T W T F S
     12
34 56789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 27 Mar 2026 10:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios