kangeiko: (desolation porn)
I made this big deal out of sorting out my previous year's registration docs for WorldCon so I could nominate for this year's Hugo Awards, and... I'm a bit lost. This will be the first year I'm nominating, and it's quickly dawning on me that my reading is hopelessly behind and I haven't actually read enough to be able to nominate anything. Maybe for Hugos three or four years in the past, sure. (They should build a time-delay just for me.) I know the easy solution for this is to read recently-released things, but I'd managed to put things in some sort of reading order in a vague attempt to whittle down my TBR pile, and... ok, look, I admit it, I was too ambitious.

I'm still considering going to WorldCon, with a sort of vague longing. I don't think I could manage to go on my own (general stress and anxiety will pretty much put a stop to that), but I don't know anyone else making the journey, so... idk.

I wanted to share a few vids I'm really fond of that were recently uploaded on AO3 (and therefore easily bookmarkable). They're both by [personal profile] laurashapiro  and I've loved them for a long time.

First up -

Transparent (2 words) by Laura Shapiro
Chapters: 1/1
Fandom: Buffy the Vampire Slayer (TV)
Rating: Teen And Up Audiences
Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
Relationships: Tara Maclay/Willow Rosenberg, Xander Harris/Willow Rosenberg, Daniel "Oz" Osbourne/Willow Rosenberg
Characters: Willow Rosenberg
Additional Tags: Angst, Animal Death, Animal Harm, vid, Video, Embedded Video, Fanvids
Summary: A Willow character study (through early Season 6)

Why I love it: Willow is one of my favourite Buffy characters. I know I say this about (almost) all the Buffy characters, but early anxious stressed Willow was someone I desperately wanted life to be kind to. She was genuinely quirky and funny, and Alyson Hannigan was SO good at making me empathise with her that I can't watch her cry without crying myself. Watching Willow hurt hurts me as well. This vid is basically an entire song's worth of Willow's anxiety and stress and hurt, so... it hurts, but in an incredibly good way.

Beatitudes (2 words) by Laura Shapiro
Chapters: 1/1
Fandom: Buffy the Vampire Slayer (TV)
Rating: Teen And Up Audiences
Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
Characters: Buffy Summers, Willow Rosenberg, Xander Harris, Rupert Giles, Anya Jenkins, Cordelia Chase, Angel (BtVS), Spike (BtVS), Riley Finn
Additional Tags: Ensemble Cast, Video, vid, Embedded Video, Fanvids, Vividcon
Summary: A requiem

Why I love it: Having said that Willow is my favourite... everyone else is also my favourite. Beatitudes had such a profound effect on me. I love the careful layering of the characters, the build of the crescendo, the triumph promised and won. (And there is a bit where the song goes "they can see god" and it's paired with this breathless revelation and that image and bit of song stuck with me from pretty much the first time I saw it, years ago.)

Actually, while I'm recc'ing Laura Shapiro's vids, let me add one more:

Circles (2 words) by Laura Shapiro
Chapters: 1/1
Fandom: The West Wing
Rating: Teen And Up Audiences
Warnings: No Archive Warnings Apply
Characters: Abbey Bartlet, Jed Bartlet, Leo McGarry, Toby Ziegler
Additional Tags: Episode: s02e18 17 People, Vividcon, vid, Fanvids, Video, Embedded Video
Summary: The White House is no place for secrets.

Why I love it: LOOK AT IT. The pacing is perfect, the way the beats of the music exactly match the dramatic beats. This is one of my favourite parts of TWW canon, and the reveal is gorgeously done.

Also, I am very excited about the Open Doors imports that took place in 2018. If you haven't seen the list of imported archives yet, it includes such behemoths as the MTAC archive (the giant archive of NCIS fic) and the Spooky Awards (covering X-Files fic). I have spent SO many hours at both sites and I am really happy that they are now available at AO3 and the fics have been preserved. (I've had more than one moment of panic when attempted to access MTAC and finding the links broken or the site unavailable, so I'll be going through and carefully re-bookmarking everything.) There are a lot of fandoms covered - including The Sentinel, Firefly, Buffy, RPF, etc - and multi-fandom archives, so do have a look and update your bookmarks of your favourite works.

I'm also considering doing Smut Swap, and putting my nominations together was... interesting. Because I had the pairings, and then I had the kinks, and then... they wouldn't match. I could perfectly well imagine those kinks with other fandoms, but the fandoms I actually wanted to request? Nope. Anyway, I've put through what I've put through, but the kink noms are still really open for me because I only put a couple on there and I need to have a serious think about what I actually want to REQUEST, not look at the two lists separately.

And then I thought, "oh, and what I'm comfortable writing" and I blushed so hard I could feel it. I mean, I've written smut before. (Let's face it, I've written some absolutely filth, I'm OK with that.) But somehow this is turning me into a Victorian maiden. Idk what that's about. I will have to think hard about what to do re: this exchange. I do want to participate, but I suspect if I'm literally blushing over writing some mild kink, that's probably... not good. (I reiterate - I have written absolute filth in my time, I have no idea where this faux!shyness is coming from.)
kangeiko: (RSC players)
I appear to have bankrupted myself somewhat with theatre. OTOH, I now have tickets to Mamma Mia (mother's day), Book of Mormon (my birthday), and Peter & Alice (dearest [personal profile] selenak 's visit) on my dresser. So I may be eating beans, but at least I'll be cultured?

There should be more fandom happening in my life. [livejournal.com profile] darlas_mom  is assisting through the provision of Due South, which is recalling my young teenaged crush on Benton Fraser, who may have perhaps set highly unrealistic expectations of future boyfriends in my impressionable young brain. (My first-ever crush was on Spock, of course, who was a paradigm of normality by comparison.)

...

Also, how weird is it that Eric Balfour plays a young, teenaged and beardless Jesse in Welcome to the Hellmouth? Recent rewatches have made my brain very confused.

kangeiko: (Default)
Fables Vol. 11 )

*

The Boys Vol. 3 )

*

Buffy Vol. 3 )

*

Well, that was generally disappointing. :(
kangeiko: (Default)
Spoilers for Buffy S8 #4 )

On the other hand, #5 rocked. )

What's with all the Jossverse fic bunnies? I have ideas for everything (except the things I'm supposed to be actually writing, of course. Bah.). It's 'cause I've been rewatching the entirety of the run, isn't it? It makes you want to fic things. Damn it.

Late, must be away to bed. But before I go, it suddenly occurs to me. If I link to Google.com, does that mean that I'm going to be banned? It does occasionally feature non-lj approved stuff, after all...

/sarcam.

OK, I'll stop now. :)
kangeiko: (atia of the julii)
Tomorrow, I am writing my dissertation. For real, this time, as it's due on 1 September and I have *counts* 10 days off work in which to write it. The research is done, and I've mostly planned it, so it should just be a case of sitting down and writing it until it's, well, written. Then sending it to people to rip to shreds, and re-writing it until it doesn't suck. Then having a ball. An actual ball, will ballgowns and everything.

In the meantime, we have [livejournal.com profile] fannish5 asking us to name five times that a character you like did something wrong -so I did, with spoilers for S2 Buffy, S1 Rome, S4 Babylon 5, S3 Alias and S3 West Wing. )
kangeiko: (Default)
It's so unbelievably hot. [livejournal.com profile] athena25 and I have been coping with the heat by barricading ourselves inside with ice drinks and S7 of buffy, which is very spangly indeed. It turns out that we'd both seen tiny wee snippets of an episode here and there, so when I found the beautifully packaged story-book version at a local charity shop for ten quid I jumped up and down like a small child and bought it, pronto.

So. Buffy S7. OMG so much pretty!! And I totally adore Dawn in this. Yup, Dawn and Anya are (ten episodes in) my choices for funnest this season. I would write more, but it's been a whole hour since I ate any watermelon, and this must be rectified. Will return once I have eaten water. And melon. Yes.

*munch*
kangeiko: (Default)
The littlest Summers is fabulous, but all too often has to play second fiddle in fanfic to her older sister. Often, she's turned into a horrible screaming pre-pubescent child, which is wrong and makes kittens cry. She copes with losing both of her parents, at age fifteen is prepared to make the ultimate sacrifice, deals with losing her sister and generally survives. Yes, she's loud and bossy and hates the fact that she's always going to be the Slayer's sister, but having tasted fame (of a sort) with Glory, I think that she understands how unpalatable the alternative is.

And we just don't see enough of her for my liking in favour of the OTP overdosing of Season 7.

Things are even worse in fanfic, which mainly features a crying and/or hysterical Dawn, or a Dawn who behaves as if she's three years old. It's a travesty, I tell you, and I am tired of wading through piles of crap to find some decent Dawn!fic. So, I turn things over to the people who'd know - you guys. What's your favourite Dawn fic? In what fics does Dawn play a decent part, or isn't relegated to 'object to be rescued so that Spike and Buffy can shag oimg it's twuluv111!!11'?

Hug your Dawnie today, and leave some fanfic recs below.
kangeiko: (Default)
I'm off to bed, yes, because tomorrow = work, but first -

Having come across this via the rage from my entire flist, I have to say the following:

[livejournal.com profile] cousinjean, you can fuck the fuck off. I don't want to read your excuses, or any of your apologists' excuses about how people shouldn't rant and yell over what was "a mistake". You know what?

I have a right to rant and yell and take this personally. Go here and you'll see my name up there; the UK rep. I helped do that. I worked my arse off to do that.

I organised and I marched and I lobbied, all so that you and everyone else could continue writing Buffy fanfic and not be shut down, and what do you do? You decide to ruin it for everyone else.

Yes, people were pissed off, and yes, many took it very personally. That's because your actions affected them personally. Maybe you are relatively new to fandom, and weren't around when websites were being shut down left right and centre. "But Joss loves fanfic!" so many of your apologists say. Yes he does, you simple-minded cretins, and FOX hates it. FOX did their utmost to shut down their entire fanbase (X-Files, Millennium, Buffy et al), and damn near succeeded between 2000 and 2001. (Anyone remember the Slayme.com and Tripod closures? The Geocities disappearing websites? The change in TOS?) I and many, many others, worked our arses off, and you're going around not only trying to profit monetarily from this, but to do so at the cost of other fans.

Fuck you.
kangeiko: (Default)
I'm full of love, people. Honest-to-goodness happy!love. ([livejournal.com profile] athena25 thinks I'm 'on edge' and 'twitchy'. It's untrue. I'm just full of love.)

OK, so last night I went to a party I was massively uncertain about. With good reason, I turns out, because I was the oldest person there. Yup, ladies and gents, I'm a geriatric at 23. At any rate, I was accosted by Cute Guy (TM) as I sat waiting for the train, who turned out to 1) be in a band, 2) be a postgrad student 3) be a postgrad student studing for a Human Rights degree, and 4) local. My head sort of trickled out of my ears at that point. Also add extr points for him chatting me up whilst I was wearing three scarves and a ginormous coat, and therefore not being merely distracted by breasts. There's a story in that which I shan't share just yet.

But, anyway. This made me happy. We talked for, oh, ages, before the train, during the train, even a little after the train, and I parted with my phone number. This is a big step for me, as I don't normally do this. Anyway, I'm not the least bit interested in him, obviously, but the point is, it put me in a really good mood for the party, which was good because OMG children!!! Children, all around me!

You do not want to be introduced to someone as, "This is [livejournal.com profile] kangeiko, my cool grown-up friend. Isn't she cool? And pretty. She's going to take me shopping for kinky clothes soon, she promised. Didn't you? She's my sex guru. Isn't she cool?"

*death*

I am the scary old man that hangs around school yards, I really am.

So, this should have made me massively upset, but instead I managed to corrupt three innocent children, upend a small boy (possibly not so small, and possibly approaching 'man', but anyway) from my lap, drink stupid amounts of wine, and, yes, ok, I had to restrain myself from killing the kiddies, but let's not mention that again, ok? I'm full of love, after all.

In fandom news, several things have occured to me:

ETA: Forgot to add the lj-cut, silly girl. All fixed now...

Darla, Spike, rape scenes and death-through-bloodloss )

Speaking of friends, what who when where is frienditto? Everyone is screaming about how much they hate it and why it pisses them off something chronic, yet I have no idea what it is. This is good, right?

Profile

kangeiko: (Default)
kangeiko

January 2021

S M T W T F S
     12
34 56789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated 28 Mar 2026 06:01 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios